December 6, 2016


A project of this magnitude is accomplished only with the dedication of a number of contributors throughout the state. The following committee members contributed their valuable time to accomplish the task of reviewing, updating, and/or rewriting the Colorado Public Library standards. I extend many thanks and much gratitude to the following Colorado library leaders and Colorado State Library staff.

Library Leaders

Diane Levin,  Eagle Valley Library District
Dianne LaPierre, Denver Public Library
Elizabeth Kelsen Huber, Sandy Messick and Andrea Pettegrew, CLiC
Janine Reid, High Plains Library District
Jamie LaRue, formerly of Douglas County Libraries
Ken Draves, Poudre River Library District
Marty Frick, formerly of West Custer County Library District
Maureen O’Driscoll, Ouray Public Library
Mike Varnet, Pikes Peak Library District
Mindy Kittay, formerly of Anythink Libraries
Oli Sanidas and Ginger Mattson, Arapahoe Library District
Sarah McDonnell, Lamar Public Library
Shelley Walchak, Pine River Library District
Susan Staples, High Plains Library District

Colorado State Library

Eugene Hainer, Assistant Commissioner
Sharon Morris, Beth Crist, Christine Kreger and Ashley Kazyaka, Library Development
Regan Harper, Kieran Hixon, Babi Hammond, Amy Hitchner, and Lori Smith, Networking and Resource Sharing
Linda Hofschire, and Katie Fox, Library Research Service
Deborah MacLeod, Colorado Talking Book Library
Melissa Carlson, Program Manager

Lastly, thank you to the other state library organizations whose publications were reviewed and helped in the development of this document.

Jacqueline Murphy,
Senior Consultant for Public Libraries and Community, Colorado State Library